The Stillman House, one of the earliest examples of Greek Revival architecture in Brownsville, was built by Charles Stillman in 1850 for his new wife Elizabeth Pamela Goodrich. The Stillmans arrived in Brownsville in 1849 then moved into the home once completed. But, after the birth of two children, Elizabeth moved them to New York, leaving the house and Mr. Stillman, along with Brownsville’s heat and high rate of disease, behind. Stillman remained until 1866, visiting his family in New York each summer. Responsible for establishing the city of Brownsville through his partnership in the Brownsville Town Company, Stillman conducted a number of businesses from his Brownsville home including imports, a cotton brokerage and a silver mine.
Today, the Stillman House is home to the Brownsville Heritage Musuem and its collection of photographs, maps, costumes, and artifacts explore Brownsville’s past. The house also provides offices for the Brownsville Historical Association, administrator of the historic home and museum, as well as the La Tienda Gift Shop. Throughout the year, the Stillman House hosts presentations, musical performances, and book signings.