Texas Tropical Trail Region

Participant in the Texas Historical Commission's
Texas Heritage Trails Program

Refugio: Refugio County Courthouse

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Refugio County Courthouse exemplifies Classic Revival styling with prairie school influence.


  • 808 Commerce St
  • Refugio, Texas
  • 78377


Hours & Fees

  • Monday - Friday 9 a.m. - 4 p.m.

  • Free


"In 1793 Nuestra Señora del Refugio Mission was founded at the juncture of the San Antonio and Guadalupe rivers. After a destructive Indian raid in 1794, however, the mission was moved to another site; and in 1795 the mission was moved to a location on the Mission River, at the site of the present town of Refugio. The villa of Refugio, officially established in 1831 around the old Refugio mission, became the center of the Refugio Municipality in 1834. After independence Refugio was organized as one of the thirteen original counties of the Republic of Texas, with the town of Refugio as the county seat. Far larger than the current county, the original Refugio County included territory that was later incorporated into new neighboring counties. By the time of the Civil War the original Refugio County area had been reduced by Goliad County in 1841; Calhoun, San Patricio and Victoria counties in 1846; and awards to Bee County in 1857 and to Nueces County in 1858. Refugio County lost much of its coastland during the 1870s when the county was divided after a political dispute between coastal and inland residents [and Aransas County was created]." - John Leffler, "Refugio County," Handbook of Texas Online